Switch to desktop Register Login

LiverKick - LiverKick

Nieky Holzken in Action Over the Weekend

You may have heard that Golden Glory's Nieky Holzken was in action over the weekend, and we were going to just give you the results, but, why do that when we could show you a video? That is really always the best way to go. Golden Glory Helmond ran an event this weekend which, by all means, was immense. For the full results, head over to here, but if you want to watch it, why just avert your eyes downwards or click Read More. [source]


Video: Andy Souwer On His Career, Fighting In France on May 19

French promotion Urban Boxing United have put together a great video with Andy Souwer where he talks about his career, life and his fight on May 19 in Marseilles, France. The fight will be under the Urban Boxing United banner against French fighter Johann Fauveau, Souwer's first time fighting a French fighter. It'll be at "Le Dome" where the capacity is up to 8 500 people. This video is really well done and gives a good look at Andy Souwer so check out the video titled "Looking For Andy."


Classic Muay Thai: Best of OneSongchai, Vol. 1

This was one of Fraser's ideas before he left the blog, to post classic Muay Thai bouts. I stumbled on this particular trove of classics surfing one of China's viral video sites. It's a great way to familiarize yourself with better known fights from what's known as Muay Thai's "Golden Era," namely the 1980s and 90s.

The two biggest promoters of Muay Thai in Thailand are OneSongchai and Petyindee Promotions. Think Golden Boy and Top Rank, except they consistently make competitive matchups at the highest level and will co-promote. Scratch that. Don't think Golden Boy and Top Rank. While the two Thai promotions appear to have some history, they operate quite differently from the two marquee U.S. promotions.

The Best of OneSongchai is exactly what it sounds like: a compilation of the best fights put on by the promotion. The series is quite old, and I'm not sure how many volumes there are. Volume 1 is full of great matchups, starting off with Ramon Dekkers in his 1990 upset against Nampon Nongkeepahuyut.

Also in the video: Sangtiennoi Sor Rungrot vs Namkabuan Nongkeepahuyut, complete with all three people in the ring, including the referee, tumbling over the ropes in round four. That's at about 24 minutes into the video.

The bouts in this volume are fought under a slightly different ruleset from modern Muay Thai. The technique known as plowing, wherein a fighter catches an opponent's leg and pushes him across the ring, is now illegal. It can lead to instances like the one at 46:20 where Rainbow KOs himself by flying over his opponent's head with a high kick. I believe the maximum number of steps is now three.

The full lineup is as follows:

Nampon Nonkeepahuyut vs Ramon Dekkers;

Wangjannoi Sor Palangchai vs Cherry Sor Vanich, at 11 minutes;

Namkabuan Nongkeepahuyut vs Sangtiennoi Sor Rungrot, at 14:20;

Sakmongkon Sitchuchok vs Jongsanan Fairtex, at 28:30;

Den Muangsurin vs Rainbow Sor Pantalay, at 41:50;

and Pongsiri Por Ruamrudee vs Pirotnoi Sor Siamchai, at 48:20.

You can buy the volume on Amazon in VCD format (What is that?). The uploader for this video is simonjj.


Simon Marcus vs Guo Hang Hang 2010

  • Published in Video
  • Written by
  • 0

Rian Scalia posted an article about upcoming fights, one of which is a "winner takes all" bout between Simon Marcus and Joe Schilling.

Marcus is a top fighter with a solid pedigree. He comes from Siam No. 1, possibly the finest Muay Thai gym in North American. (They have a reputation for putting out very well-prepared fighters). He turned pro not too long ago, after capturing a number of amateur belts, including the IFMA title and the SportAccord Games <81kg gold in Beijing.

This fight, from a San Da vs Muay Thai event in China, showcases Marcus's strong, traditional Muay Thai technique. For those who understand Chinese, the commentating is also fairly (and unintentionally) hilarious for reasons of racism and blatant national bias.

Marcus is in the black and gold, and Guo is in red.

(Edit: This is actually a rematch. Guo and Marcus fought on another San Da vs Muay Thai show in a one-sided, and I mean VERY one sided, beatdown (Guo landed maybe twenty strikes over five rounds.) Why they were matched again, I don't know. Guo had a slight knee injury in their first bout, so maybe the promoters thought he would do significantly better next time. If that was the case, he blew their minds by doing significantly worse.)


Copyright 2010 - 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Top Desktop version